Shopping for clients…

20 Mar

I was in my car getting ready to pull out of the 7-11 parking lot yesterday when a van pulled in and parked next to my passenger side door.  I immediately looked to see what type of business the van’s sign promoted and it was a carpet business.  I then got a business card ready and put down my passenger side window.  When the man emerged from his van, he glanced my way and I took the opportunity.  I smiled and asked him how he was.  He said he was doing well so I pointed to the sign on his van and asked if this was his business.  When he said yes, I explained what I do and handed him a business card.  He took it, smiled and said he’ll be calling for a quote.  Will he call?  That is yet to be seen but the whole situation got me thinking about other ways I can generate leads while I’m running errands.

As a commercial insurance agent, it’s not always easy to tell who are business owners and who aren’t so I certainly wouldn’t promote just handing out cards, flyers or postcards to everyone.  But, business owners need to shop and run errands as well, so there must be at least a few when I’m out and about.  The general plan is to ALWAYS have business cards in my pocket and flyers, brochures or whatever I have made up, available in my car.  Here are a few ways I’ve decided I’m going to generate leads while I’m running errands:

  • Scan the parking lot for service vehicles.  Park close to them so they can see my car door magnet and phone number.
  • Put flyers, brochures or something promoting my business on the windshield or drivers side door handle of said service vehicles.
  • Talk to people behind and in front of me at the store.  You never know who they are or who they know.
  • Change up my dry cleaner, bagel store, etc every time I go (within reason).  I’ll have additional chances to meet more business owners and, thus, generate more clients.

I believe if we keep our eyes and ears open, even when we aren’t in the office or out purposely prospecting, we will have a better chance of generating more clients and getting our name out there.

Your turn.  Tell us about a time you met a potential client when you least expected it.

If you have any ideas or requests for future posts, please feel free to email me at melissa@njbusinessinsurancelady.com

Melissa Ash

New Jersey’s Business Insurance Lady

www.njbusinessinsurancelady.com

Leave a Reply

