Beyond the phone book…

22 Mar

As I’m driving around to clients or taking my family to the park, I always notice service vehicles and lawn signs of businesses (usually service businesses) and want to take down their information so I can cold call them.  As much as I’d love to stop every few minutes, interrupt my family time and visit each and every one of these businesses, I can’t. Nor is it safe to try and write down the info while I’m driving with me knee.

Instead, I pulled out my trusty old mini tape recorder and began recording every business I see that I want to contact when I’m back in the office.  The tape recorder remains with me at all times and any time I’m sitting at a traffic light next to an HVAC (or any other type of service for that matter) vehicle, I turn on my recorder and tell it the name of the company, phone number, what type of company it is and that there is a service vehicle as well (so I know to offer commercial auto).  Also, anytime I see lawn signs or billboards with companies I’d like to quote, I do the same thing.  Pull out my recorder and tape any and all info I can gather from the billboard or lawn sign.

Does this generate more leads for me?  Absolutely!  I’ve gotten quite a few new clients using this method and even though my family gets a bit annoyed every time I pull out my recorder (because that means the kids need to be quiet for a minute), I’m sure they’ll enjoy eating again next month from the money I make off my tape recorder.

So, pull out your mini tape recorder and start finding businesses to contact not listed in the phone book!

Your turn.  What other methods have you used to find businesses to contact who aren’t in the phone book?

If you have any ideas or requests for future posts, please feel free to email me at melissa@njbusinessinsurancelady.com

Melissa Ash

New Jersey’s Business Insurance Lady

www.njbusinessinsurancelady.com

2 Responses to “Beyond the phone book…”

  1. tribalstylemarketing March 22, 2012 at 4:11 pm #

    That is a great tip, I sometimes use my phone’s note taker/voice recorder so I guess I could do that with your method! I like to go through Valpak, Clipper magazines, etc. that we get & put them into my sales funnel.

    • njbusinessinsurancelady March 26, 2012 at 5:08 pm #

      Great idea! We get the local advertising newspapers and do the same thing as well. 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

