Testimonials

29 Mar

Today, I’m looking to pick your brain.  Here is the question:

How do you collect customer testimonials?

We all know that having great testimonials from our clients can be extremely helpful in creating a demand from other clients.   Whether we use them in our direct mail marketing plan or on our website, all potential clients like to hear what others have had to say about your service, agency, price, etc.  But, if you’ve ever checked out my website (link is below), you will notice there are NO client testimonials.  Why?  Because I haven’t yet figured out a professional way to ask my clients to provide me with one!  And I’m absolutely NOT willing to make some up (even though that has been suggested to me numerous times over the last few days).  So, even if you’ve never commented on this blog before, please share your wisdom (and/or ideas)!

Here are a few ideas that I was thinking of trying:

  • Include a ‘rate us’ type form or card in the pile of papers to sign when a new client comes on board.
  • Mail or email a short survey for current clients to fill out.
  • Write down any nice words customers say to me over the phone and ask if I can quote them.

Of course, I assume anytime I want to use a client’s words, I’ll need to ask their permission as well.

What do you think about these ideas?  Any you’ve tried?

Now it’s your turn….let’s help out our fellow commercial insurance agents with some ideas/wisdom on this topic!

Thanks in advance!

If you have any ideas or requests for future posts, please feel free to email me at melissa@njbusinessinsurancelady.com

Melissa Ash

New Jersey’s Business Insurance Lady

www.njbusinessinsurancelady.com

One Response to “Testimonials”

  1. njbusinessinsurancelady March 30, 2012 at 12:41 pm #

    I posted this question on an insurance forum that I am a part of and I received two ideas that I wanted to share with all of you. The first person said to ask a client for permission to quote him/her anytime someone says something positive about you and/or your service via the phone. This person also said to tell the business owner you will use the quote on your marketing materials and will only use his/her first name. The second person said he sends emails to each of his clients after they’ve done business together asking for a positive review and permission to quote the client on his marketing materials. When he is requesting this from his clients, he says to them that potential clients might feel better using his services if they know that this particular client had a positive experience with him (I like that!). He also makes sure to tell his client that, if he uses the quote, he will take it down whenever he is requested to do so. Then he posts them under client testimonials.

Leave a Reply

