The New Facebook Page Timeline- Step by Step

4 Apr

If you have a facebook page for your business, then I have no doubt you’ve been trying to figure it all out.  Maybe you’ve spent countless hours trying to create and publish the perfect cover or reading other blogs about all the changes.  If you’re anything like me, you’ve read a few of these articles about making a professional, cohesive facebook page for your business and left each article thinking, “Wow, that’s great.  But where are the instructions on how to do it?”

I’m here to tell you I’ve got it all figured out!  Well, mostly.  But, if I can do it myself (someone who has absolutely NO computer skills), so can you!

If you aren’t sure what I’m talking about or are just looking for some inspiration, here’s a page with a few creative facebook page timelines for you to peruse.  http://slodive.com/inspiration/showcase/facebook-timeline-covers/

Now that you are sufficiently inspired, I challenge you to make a creative timeline cover for your own business page.  But, again, we are left with the question of how?  Here’s a website I found where you can create timeline covers for free. http://www.myfbcovers.com/ 

What’s next?  Cohesive branding.   What do I mean, exactly?  Well, here’s yet another website I found online for you to look at first:

http://www.yhyqart.com/2012/02/29/facebook-timeline-world-famous-brand-pages-cover-designs-cool-ideas-fan-pages/

Notice how the majority of brand pages have apps along the bottom of their cover picture that match the design of the cover (the picture of live strong is probably the most well done).  I love this idea!  Yet, when I attempted to do this through my facebook page, I came up short.  So, I did some digging and found a way to add timeline apps (up to 12 separate ones) and found free (yes, free!) icon pictures in several different colors to choose from to match my theme.

First, adding the apps.  Go to

http://www.jonloomer.com/2012/03/25/how-to-create-multiple-facebook-timeline-apps-with-static-html/

and follow his instructions to add as many apps as you’d like.  I added 4 to my page.  It may look like a daunting task, but it was surprisingly easy!

After you’ve completed that, check out the same website page above.  On the top of the page to the right, you will see an offer to “Get your icons”.  Click on that and follow the directions.  They have a variety of icons available for each color group and 6 different colors to choose from.  I downloaded all the color groups in case I decide to change my business page in the future.

You may also want to add an icon for your photo app.  Here’s the site for those directions as well:

http://www.jonloomer.com/2012/04/02/how-to-edit-the-facebook-timeline-photos-icon/

Here’s something to note:  Know that when you click on those additional apps you added, as of now, there really isn’t anything there.  My next blog post’s mission will be to instruct everyone on how to create pages behind those apps (as soon as I figure it out myself!).  In the meantime, check out my facebook business page (don’t be confused, this page is for my secondary business):   www.facebook.com/yourlifeinprint  and let me know how I’ve done so far though it is far from done.

Your turn.  Do you have any other fun tricks for us to use while updating our facebook business pages?  Please send them along via the comments below!  I’d love to hear them!  Also, please share the link to your business page once you’ve completed the steps above so we can all check it out and become inspired by your success!

Happy facebooking!

Disclaimer:  I have no affiliation with any of the above websites (except my own business facebook page).  Please use their advice and their downloads at your own risk.

 

If you have any ideas or requests for future posts, please feel free to email me at melissa@njbusinessinsurancelady.com

Melissa Ash

New Jersey’s Business Insurance Lady

www.njbusinessinsurancelady.com

 

 

 

 

 

2 Responses to “The New Facebook Page Timeline- Step by Step”

  1. Moises Kutchie May 3, 2012 at 3:56 pm #

    Hello Web Admin, I noticed that your On-Page SEO is is missing a few factors, for one you do not use all three H tags in your post, also I notice that you are not using bold or italics properly in your SEO optimization. On-Page SEO means more now than ever since the new Google update: Panda. No longer are backlinks and simply pinging or sending out a RSS feed the key to getting Google PageRank or Alexa Rankings, You now NEED On-Page SEO. So what is good On-Page SEO?First your keyword must appear in the title.Then it must appear in the URL.You have to optimize your keyword and make sure that it has a nice keyword density of 3-5% in your article with relevant LSI (Latent Semantic Indexing). Then you should spread all H1,H2,H3 tags in your article.Your Keyword should appear in your first paragraph and in the last sentence of the page. You should have relevant usage of Bold and italics of your keyword.There should be one internal link to a page on your blog and you should have one image with an alt tag that has your keyword….wait there’s even more Now what if i told you there was a simple WordPress plugin that does all the On-Page SEO, and automatically for you? That’s right AUTOMATICALLY, just watch this 4minute video for more information at. WordPress Seo Plugin

    • njbusinessinsurancelady May 9, 2012 at 2:38 pm #

      Thanks for the info, Moises! Obviously, I’m new at all of this but I will definitely take a look at your video and see if there is anything I can do as a non-techie to make a better site. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

