Get Clients to Advertise For You

23 Apr

As a business insurance agent, I’ve been writing a lot of auto repair shops lately.  And, one thing I’ve noticed about all of these shops, is the abundance of posters and banners in their waiting area.   Posters advertising the brand of tires they sell, posters listing state maintenance requirements and posters stating what the shop isn’t responsible for, among other things.

Looking around at all these posters gave me an idea.  If these business owners are willing to hang all of these posters around their waiting area, why wouldn’t they hang an insurance poster?  I think next time I sign a client, I’ll ask him or her to hang a small poster or banner stating, “New Jersey’s Business Insurance Lady Protects Us!” or something to that effect and see what happens.  The worst that could happen is the business owner says no, in which case, I’ll take my poster to the next client.  If the business owner says yes, maybe other business owners will see it and question my client about my customer service, coverage and prices and I could get a few additional clients out of it.  You never know until you try!

Here’s a look at the poster I created through Your Life In Print for this purpose:

Here’s to thinking outside the box!

Your turn:  Do you do something similar to attract new clients?  What is it and how has it worked for you?


Melissa Ash/NJ’s Business Insurance Lady
Irwin Edelstein Associates, Inc.

Tel: 732-549-1800 | 732-317-1979

http://www.njbusinessinsurancelady.com

 

 

4 Responses to “Get Clients to Advertise For You”

  1. tribalstylemarketing April 27, 2012 at 3:35 pm #

    I have to say, that is brilliant! What I’d recommend in the future is to have your logo of the NJBusinessInsuranceLady. Something that will evoke an emotional response subconsciously. Those cartoons & cgi animations on “The General”, “Geico Gecko”, etc., are there for a reason. Great job though!

    • njbusinessinsurancelady April 30, 2012 at 1:46 pm #

      Thanks! And I love the idea of using a logo as well though I haven’t quite settled on one yet. Any idea on which types of insurance logos will catch a business owner’s eye without being too gimmicky or cartoony?

      • tribalstylemarketing April 30, 2012 at 3:10 pm #

        The Gravatar you’re using here now is a good start. Maybe a little too young looking though. You could definitely go on Fiverr.com & get someone to design you one that would stick in someone’s memory. Maybe even take a real picture of yourself & have the artist make a ‘slight’ caricature of yourself. Look at the other companies & you’ll see a cartoon-ish feel. Even the real lady w/Progressive! She’s a character if I didn’t ever see one. Check out the e-surance lady: http://androidgals.com/2011/04/19/esurance-online-car-insurance-comes-to-android/

        I’m not saying copy anyone, but you can often get your own ideas from looking at what others are doing. Just trying to get you to think bigger. As the old saying goes, “Small businesses stay small because they often lack the mindset to grow.”

  2. njbusinessinsurancelady April 30, 2012 at 3:22 pm #

    Great idea! And, you’re right, a lot of insurance companies are using cartoonish logos so it wouldn’t be too far fetched to do something along those lines. I’ll do some research and see what I come up with. I’ll keep you posted! Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

